Celebrating October,
National Mental Health Month.

2020 Events

Thursday October 1

#MOVE 4 THE MIND

Promoting healthy bodies and healthy minds
Cost: Free
Thursday October 1

GRATITUDE Art Exhibition Launch

Virtual Exhibition throughout October
Cost: Free
Thursday October 1

# MOVE 4 THE MIND: Week 1 Challenge

Cover 12.5km this week!
Cost: Free
Thursday October 1

'Made With Love' Short Independent Film

Film launch - Available throughout October
Location: Online - YouTube
Cost: Free
Friday October 2

Mental Wellbeing Connections

For the mature-aged
Location: Online
Cost: Free but bookings essential
Saturday October 3

The Man Walk

Men walking, talking and supporting
Location: The Salty Dog Cafe
Cost: Free
Monday October 5

Wildlife Xposure

An opportunity for the family and young ones to meet Biscuit the Starfish
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Tuesday October 6

Creating Personal Resilience

A workshop that cultivates courage, vulnerability and whole-hearted living
Location: Online
Cost: Free / Bookings essential
Wednesday October 7

The Mental Health Advisory Network Meeting

Supporting good mental health in business.
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Thursday October 8

Finding the Right Mental Health Professional

Session for the community (recommended age 18+), professional practitioners and university students
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Friday October 9

Mental Wellbeing Connections

For the mature-aged
Location: Online
Cost: Free but bookings essential
Saturday October 10

World Mental Health Day

A day to be connected in community and connected in cause
Saturday October 10

The Man Walk

Men walking, talking and supporting
Location: The Salty Dog Cafe
Cost: Free
Sunday October 11

Paint The Town Red @ The Stoop

Location: The Stoop
Monday October 12

#MOVE 4 THE MIND: Week 2 Challenge

Take a break halfway & connect with your environment
Cost: Free
Wednesday October 14

Connected Communities

Understanding Mental Wellbeing. Free education event for service professionals and the general community (min age 18)
Location: Online
Cost: free
Thursday October 15

Poetry Slam of the Minds

This year's theme: LOCKDOWN SLAM
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Friday October 16

Mental Wellbeing Connections

For the mature-aged
Location: Online
Cost: Free but bookings essential
Saturday October 17

The Man Walk

Men walking, talking and supporting
Location: Salty Dog Café
Cost: Free
Saturday October 17

The Sounds of Hope

An afternoon for community, friends and family to connect.
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Monday October 19

#MOVE 4 THE MIND: Week 3 Challenge

Promoting social connections - walk with a friend!
Cost: Free
Tuesday October 20

Wildlife Xposure

An opportunity for the family and young ones to meet Biscuit the Starfish
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Wednesday October 21

Practicing What We Preach!

Mental Health First Aid Training for Art of the Minds Volunteers
Cost: $250
Friday October 23

Mental Wellbeing Connections

For the mature-aged
Location: Online
Cost: Free but bookings essential
Saturday October 24

The Man Walk

Men walking, talking and supporting
Location: Salty Dog Cafe
Cost: Free
Sunday October 25

Tai Chi / QiGong

Moving Meditation
Location: Quay Reserve Oval
Cost: $10
Monday October 26

#MOVE 4 THE MIND: Week 4 Challenge

Slow down & practise mindfulness
Cost: Free
Thursday October 29

Finding Your True North

Redefining Purpose and Passion Through Story Stillness and Movement
Location: Online
Cost: Free
Friday October 30

Mindfulness Sensory Walk

When did you last walk barefoot on the beach?
Location: Meet Elephant Walk Park car park, Torquay Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228
Friday October 30

Mental Wellbeing Connections

For the mature-aged
Location: Online
Cost: Free but bookings essential
Saturday October 31

The Man Walk

Men walking, talking and supporting
Location: The Salty Dog Cafe
Cost: Free
Saturday October 31

Lukey's Open Mic

EVENT POSTPONED
Cost: Free
Saturday October 31

Mad Hatter's Festival Farewell

Celebrating an event-filled Mental Health Awareness Month
Location: Il Matto Torquay
Thursday November 26

Surf Coast Song Contest

Location: Bells Beach Brewing
Cost: $10

Our Mission

Art of the Minds aims to activate, educate and engage the Surf Coast and wider community to creatively manage mental health and wellbeing. 

Our festival message throughout October and coinciding with National Mental Health Month, includes the prevention of mental illness, supporting those in the early stages of developing a mental illness, and for those who may be worsening with a mental illness, provide hope in recovery. Art of the Minds is passionate about sharing resilience-focused messages in recovery and building community support.

Our 5 C’s!  Celebrating Creative Community Conversations & Connections in mental wellbeing.